Book Review & Giveaway: The Two Book Haven Series, by D.C. Akers!

Disclosure: I got this product as part of an advertorial.

Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000448_00024]

 Good afternoon, savvy savers! Today, I wanted to share with you a continuation of my previous book review for D.C. Akers Haven book series! As I previously posted about here, you can read about this fantastic mystical new-age genre writer! As well, I wanted to remind my readers, especially those who may have read his previous work, Haven: Stranger Magic, to be sure and pick-up the next installment in this series, Haven: Revenge of the Viper; both volumes are available on

Here is a brief synopsis for those interested in the series:

A Stranger Magic (Book 1):
Sam Dalcome thinks he is so completely average that no one ever notices him. Until he discovers a mysterious stranger outside his home. Bewildered, he tries to uncover the stranger’s intentions. But Sam is sidetracked when he and his friend Travis discover a secret passageway deep in the town’s quarry that leads to a hidden cavern. What they uncover next will not only change their lives forever, but will uncover the first clue to a deadly Dalcome family secret. Sam finds himself drawn into a world of mystery and magic he never knew existed, which brings him closer to a destiny he never knew was possible.

Revenge of the Viper (Book 2):
The Great War of Haven ended thirteen years ago but Alisa Dalcome is about to discover that the war did not end for her. Placed on Earth as a sleeper agent for the Majesty of Haven, Alisa had one objective—protect the portal keys at all costs. In the wrong hands the magical keys could jeopardize the safety of everyone on Haven. But Alisa’s relocation was more than just Majesty business; it was also a chance for her to escape her enemies, enemies that still wanted her dead. Alisa wasn’t thinking about herself when she left Haven, she was thinking about her children Sam and Sarah. The Great War had already taken her husband Rylan; she would be damned if she would let it take her children too. But what Alisa didn’t count on was her inquisitive son Sam and his friend Travis. Sam’s world has turned upside down after discovering magic is real. After barely escaping the caves Sam begins to piece together the past day’s events when he stumbles onto his mother’s secret past. With the clues mounting, Sam must dig deeper to uncover the truth that could change his life forever.
But Sam doesn’t realize that his mother’s past has already caught up with them. Hidden within the shadows nearby is Haven’s most malevolent predator—the Viper. A hunter forged from the blackest of magic, it watches, waiting for the perfect moment to strike. Can Sam uncover the truth in time or will his mother’s past collide with the present placing them all in grave danger?

I personally enjoyed Book II, and felt that the magical dealing of Sam Dacomes, and the world as he knows, have once again been turned inside out, when the knowledge is learned that what he thought about magic is actually true. Sam and his best friend Travis barely escape the caves and while cleaning out the garage Sam comes across his moms hidden box of her past. In the box he finds a ring, letter and 11 pieces of onyx and he starts to put the pieces of the past and today’s events together. Same later learns that  pieces of his moms past which she has had to keep hidden in offer to protect her children , after her husband was killed and the truth will change his life forever.  Sam doesn’t realize that digging around her past has put them in contact with the danger shes tried hard to keep them from, and the past is onto them now.

This is a book series you won’t be able to put down!  And what’s even more  magical is that D.C. Akers  is giving away to one of my lucky readers Books 1 &2 of the Haven Series.

To enter this giveaway, you must:

– Like the Lady Prefers To Save on Facebook (this step will be verified).
– Follow the Lady Prefers to Save on Twitter (this step will also be verified).
– Check out D.C. Akers and his other books here, and then leave me a comment about what you find most intriguing about the book.

This contest ends at 11:59pm CST on 4/01/14!

Good luck, everyone!

Happy reading!

I received one or more of the products mentioned above for free using Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers.

One thought on “Book Review & Giveaway: The Two Book Haven Series, by D.C. Akers!

  1. Pingback: The Lady Prefers To Save | Book Review & Giveaway: The Two Book Haven Series, by D.C. Akers!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s